Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Use this forum for anything related to the UAFC website or this messageboard.

Moderators: The Fonz, Moderators

User avatar
BR
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 17290
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:12 am
Location: On a roll.

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by BR » Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:30 pm

DVB-T2 is the new standard of Digital Terrestial - it makes sense to use it for HD, but it's not necessary.
Can I come out from behind the sofa yet?
www.stoutboys.co.uk

User avatar
mikerob
Lord Chancellor
Posts: 9123
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:50 pm
Location: Chiswick, London

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by mikerob » Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:19 pm

DVB-T and the newer DVB-T2 are the standards used to transmit digital broadcast signals - it basically defines how the radio signal is changed to transmit all those 1's and 0's (modulated is the techy term)

MPEG2 and MPEG4 are standards for digital video, so define what all those 1's and 0's actually mean in terms of colour, brightness, sound and everything that makes up a picture.

So DVB-T / DVB-T2 is the method used to transmit digital video from big broadcast towers, but broadcast, cable, ADSL, mobile and satellite all use different methods to transmit digital pictures. How you transmit the 1's and 0's is specific to the medium being used, even though the 1's and 0's (the actual picture being sent) are the same for each .

So one of the differences between Freeview and Freeview HD is that Freeview is based upon MPEG2/DVB-T and Freeview HD is MPEG4/DVB-T2 so the chances are a Freeview box won't work with Freeview HD, unless maybe the Freeview box is recent and the manufacturer had built in the latest standards anyway.

As they say in the techy world, the good thing about standards is there are so many to choose from...

User avatar
Snipe Watson
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 22860
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:42 pm

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by Snipe Watson » Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:35 pm

So will a PVR with Tuner Type DVB-T/T2 pick up RTE?
I have not got a clue what I'm even asking here.

eg - http://www.sony.co.uk/product/hard-disk ... ations#tab
#NotMyCountry

User avatar
browner
Lord Chancellor
Posts: 8670
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: Globe Vienna crashed and burned...Giant TCR SL2 rising from the ashes.

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by browner » Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:01 pm

I would say almost certainly...but this may be of help....


http://www.nidirect.gov.uk/how-do-i-get ... nd-rte-two
Stand up for PICU R.V.H.

User avatar
Snipe Watson
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 22860
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:42 pm

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by Snipe Watson » Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:19 pm

browner wrote:I would say almost certainly...but this may be of help....


http://www.nidirect.gov.uk/how-do-i-get ... nd-rte-two
Thanks Browner. :salut:
#NotMyCountry

User avatar
mikerob
Lord Chancellor
Posts: 9123
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:50 pm
Location: Chiswick, London

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by mikerob » Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:14 pm

Snipe Watson wrote:So will a PVR with Tuner Type DVB-T/T2 pick up RTE?
I have not got a clue what I'm even asking here.

eg - http://www.sony.co.uk/product/hard-disk ... ations#tab
Yes - it says it is a Freeview HD box so it will be fine.

User avatar
Snipe Watson
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 22860
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:42 pm

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by Snipe Watson » Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:43 pm

mikerob wrote:
Snipe Watson wrote:So will a PVR with Tuner Type DVB-T/T2 pick up RTE?
I have not got a clue what I'm even asking here.

eg - http://www.sony.co.uk/product/hard-disk ... ations#tab
Yes - it says it is a Freeview HD box so it will be fine.
Cheers, I shall purchase one tomorrow.............
#NotMyCountry

User avatar
browner
Lord Chancellor
Posts: 8670
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: Globe Vienna crashed and burned...Giant TCR SL2 rising from the ashes.

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by browner » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:32 pm

Not at that price ?
Stand up for PICU R.V.H.

User avatar
Snipe Watson
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 22860
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:42 pm

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by Snipe Watson » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:43 pm

£175 is the best price I can find for a new one.
#NotMyCountry

User avatar
browner
Lord Chancellor
Posts: 8670
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: Globe Vienna crashed and burned...Giant TCR SL2 rising from the ashes.

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by browner » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:01 pm

£150 here with it seems free delivery...they have a branch in Smithfield Belfast.

http://www.froogle.richersounds.com/pro ... -svrhdt500

Also might be worth phoning your nearest Sony Centre for a price...tell them you can get it for £150.
Stand up for PICU R.V.H.

User avatar
Rooster
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 40135
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:39 am
Location: Chicken coop 17

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by Rooster » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:14 pm

browner wrote:£150 here with it seems free delivery...they have a branch in Smithfield Belfast.

http://www.froogle.richersounds.com/pro ... -svrhdt500

Also might be worth phoning your nearest Sony Centre for a price...tell them you can get it for £150.
Doubt if they will beat Richer Sounds phone them and if they have not got it they will get you one if they have any left in store 03339000070 standard rate phone number.
“That made me feel very special and underlined to me that Ulster is more than a team, it is a community and a rugby family"
Rory Best

User avatar
mikerob
Lord Chancellor
Posts: 9123
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:50 pm
Location: Chiswick, London

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by mikerob » Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:57 pm

Richer Sounds are hard to beat for price on hifi/audio visual gear.

User avatar
BR
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 17290
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:12 am
Location: On a roll.

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by BR » Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:44 am

Again - I would expect prices to tumble once the dust has settled.
Can I come out from behind the sofa yet?
www.stoutboys.co.uk

User avatar
mikerob
Lord Chancellor
Posts: 9123
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:50 pm
Location: Chiswick, London

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by mikerob » Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:58 am

There is continual downward movement on prices for this type of kit anyway. A basic digibox that would have cost about £99 when Freeview launched 10 years ago will cost less than £20 now.

User avatar
Rooster
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh
Posts: 40135
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:39 am
Location: Chicken coop 17

Re: Digitalization and me tellies - can u help?

Post by Rooster » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:21 am

Check out your tv well before you buy anything, I discovered last night that my Sony, 6 years old, has inbuilt freeview even though there was no mention of it when I bought it, still have the box and nothing to say on it either. Have not used the aerial for anything since RTE was added to sky and although it is 19 years old picks up the digital perfectly even though we needed all sorts of boosters and amplifiers when last used they are all disconnected.
“That made me feel very special and underlined to me that Ulster is more than a team, it is a community and a rugby family"
Rory Best

Post Reply